Henry Lim

Prof. Henry LIM


Chair Emeritus, Department of Dermatology
Henry Ford Hospital Medical Center

HENRY W. LIM is the Chair Emeritus of the Department of Dermatology, Henry Ford Hospital, and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit, Michigan, USA. He stepped down from the chairmanship of the dermatology department on March 1, 2017 as he assumed the president position of the American Academy of Dermatology.

He received his M.D. (cum laude) from SUNY Downstate Medical Center, Brooklyn, New York, USA, and completed his dermatology residency at New York University School of Medicine. Prior to coming to Henry Ford Hospital, he was a Professor of Dermatology at NYU School of Medicine, as well as the Chief of Staff of the New York VA Medical Center. He has published more than 400 articles, and edited 7 textbooks. He is a recognized world authority on photodermatology. He has been on Best Doctors list annually since 1994.

Dr. Lim has served as president of Michigan Dermatological Society, vice president of the American Academy of Dermatology, president of the American Board of Dermatology, and president of the American Dermatological Association. From March, 2017 to Feb 2018, he was the president of the American Academy of Dermatology, the world’s largest dermatologic society. Current, he is the immediate past president of the AAD. In 2016, he was selected as the recipient of the Fred W. Whitehouse, MD, Distinguish Career Award of the Henry Ford Medical Group. In 2018, he was the recipient of European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology International Scientific Achievement Award, and the International League of Dermatological Societies Certificate of Appreciation for International Leadership.

He was an Associate Editor of the Journal of Investigative Dermatology, and was Editor-in-Chief of Photodermatology, Photoimmunology & Photomedicine. He is currently a Senior Editor of Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, and a member of the editorial board of Photodermatology, Photoimmunology, and Photomedicine. He was a former editorial board member of Journal of Investigative Dermatology, Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, and JAMA Dermatology. He is an elected honorary member of dermatology societies in Austria, France, Spain, the Philippines, China, and the Baltics.